Loss

blackholesunbekkies
Loss

Stark raving emptiness streams
into the screaming void
I used to recognize,

as me.

My heart’s locked up tight
while loss floods me
under a raging river of uncertainty.

I choke on mouthfuls of regret
gasping for air
while floundering in the inky darkness
my mind squirming like a toad.

Those left behind
prime a minefield of hate and lies
each one taking another limb
my memories are bleeding out.

I can find no closure
leaving me,

lost.

This is about the loss of a parent and what can happen with the siblings/others left behind and how it affects them. The artwork is mine.

© Rebecca Sanchez 2017

Written with dVerse~Poets Pub.

18 thoughts on “Loss

  1. You described well what such a loss could feel like with siblings leaving “a minefield of hate and lies”. I also liked your animated graphic. It makes me want to go to some YouTube video and find out how to do such things myself.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

