Forever In A Dollhouse

bekkieshouse

Forever In A Dollhouse

I am lost in my childhood dollhouse
stuck in my dreams
forever waiting for my turn
I wanted a real dollhouse
made of wood with pretty wallpaper
but I got a metal dollhouse
with a plastic family and furniture.

The sky’s a sullen shade of cyan
over the stagnant water
of my metallic pool
the sun burns itself out trying
while rust slowly accumulates
smelling just like blood.

These empty, echoing rooms
scraping by against alloy walls
covered in fake pictures and plants
numb in toxic surroundings
while black mold climbs the stamped stairway
I can’t escape this sinking feeling.

© Rebecca Sanchez 2017

I really did have a metal dollhouse almost just like this. My artwork and animation unnamed.

Written with Imaginary Garden Of Real Toads for the theme home.

22 thoughts on “Forever In A Dollhouse

    1. Wow! And I thought sharing a bedroom with my younger brother (4 years younger) was bad! That must have been hard not having a place (or bed) of your own to think in!! Thanks for sharing that, Susie! Hugs!

      Like

  1. Really good and love the close.
    Our imagination does play a large part in what we deem as home or the dream of what we wish as home.
    Kind regards
    Anna :o]

    Liked by 1 person

  2. numb in toxic surroundings
    while black mold climbs the stamped stairway
    I can’t escape this sinking feeling

    It isn’t the real thing as expected but accepted with all their ramifications. Wondering how little girls in all innocence are disappointed likewise in other instances! Great lines Bekkie!

    Hank

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I’ve never heard of metal dolls houses – my grandfather made mine out of wood. I love the lines
    ‘The sky’s a sullen shade of cyan
    over the stagnant water
    of my metallic pool’
    and the rust ‘smelling just like blood’.
    I agree with Brendan – toxic playgrounds result in homeless spirits.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. This is a great contribution to the theme, Bekkie — suggests that the quality of our lives depends upon the quality of our imagination (the “real” vs “fake” dollhouse). Toxic playgrounds result in homeless spirits. Amen.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

