Sdrawkcab Poem

2e32b5ff9f7556c18db7a5bf23997014

Sdrawkcab Poem

My cat was begging to be fed
I brushed the cobwebs from my head
and when I got up from my bed
I did it backward style instead.

A backward world is what I found
my cat was making backward sounds
my room was backward all around
absurdly backward-so profound.

My cat was begging to be fed
as I awoke with certain dread
’twas just a dream I had instead
and sighing just went back to bed.

© Rebecca Sanchez 2017

Casey Weldon is an American artist best known for his use of melancholy and humor in conjunction with the iconography of modern pop culture, leading his critics to designate his style as “post-pop surrealism.” He’s a Californian artist and I found this picture to use after I wrote my poem. Source: Wikipedia

Written for the prompt irony from dVerse~Poets Pub.

30 thoughts on “Sdrawkcab Poem

  1. That was incredibly fun! Love the pic to accompany the poem. The backward backwards made me read the poem again a few ways to see if it had backward elements but I did not find them — did I miss anything.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. A world moving backward is surreal to me ~ Perhaps it is not a dream after all for we seem to be going back in the ages, having not learned anything from history. Enjoyed this one Bekkie ~

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

