That Glass Is Half ____

allthatflittersisgold

That Glass Is Half ____

When I see it, I want to say the water glass is half full
then I think about why I feel that way-
I don’t have a good answer…

I know it’s healthy to be optimistic
it’s less stressful and we live longer
I read it’s something that can be learned.

I know the answer lies deep within,
that unmeasurable amount of water mocking me
a need to please, even if it kills me.

I practice being grateful and positive
with the hopes of feeling optimistic
next time I’m presented with a glass of water.

I want to say the water glass is half full-
even when it holds spent Hydrangea blooms.
I don’t have a good answer…

© Rebecca Sanchez 2018

“The optimist proclaims that we live in the best of all possible worlds, and the pessimist fears this is true.” ― James Branch Cabell

The image is: Still Life by Adolph de Meyer (1908)

Written with my friends at the Imaginary Garden With Real Toads. I animated the image with glitter.

8 thoughts on “That Glass Is Half ____

  1. A nice write. Bekkie. A lot of “positive thinkers” will have us all saying half full. The engineer in me tells know the weight of “full” and to put it on the digital scale to see if it is more or less than half weight. Only at the one halfway drop point should we be able to choose either half empty or half full. 🙂
    ..

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I think the answer is you. You are naturally positive. You live a positive life, and do positive things like ride your bike all over, and that takes a lot of guts and energy. I wanted to let you know Bekkie that I started another prompt blog site similar to Magpie Tales. A picture posts every Sunday and you have all week to link up and join. I would love it if you participated. I know you are busy, but if you want to it would be awesome. Here is the link: https://thesundaymuse.blogspot.com/

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment